Log in
Log in

Marilla M. Ricker Achievement Award

Since 2000, the Marilla M. Ricker Achievement Award has been presented annually at NHWBA's Fall Reception. Its recipients are women lawyers who have achieved professional excellence, and paved the way to success for other women lawyers, or advanced opportunities for women in the legal profession, and/or performed exemplary public service on behalf of women.

You can learn more about Marilla M. Ricker, a woman of many New Hampshire legal firsts, here.

Nomination Process

The Award(s) will be presented at NHWBA’s Annual Fall Reception. NHWBA Board of Director members currently serving on the Board and/or who served on the Board during the most recent 2-year term are not eligible for the Award.

To nominate a woman lawyer: (1) Complete the Nomination Form; (2) Attach a copy of the nominee’s resume or biography; and (3) Describe in your own words how the nominee has:

A. Achieved professional excellence; AND

B. Paved the way to success for other women lawyers; AND/OR

C. Advanced opportunities for women in the legal profession; AND/OR

D. Performed exemplary public service on behalf of women.

The narrative should not exceed two typed pages and should contain concrete examples for at least one of the listed criteria. You may attach articles written by the nominee or other letters of support from individuals or organizations.

All nominations shall remain active for a period of three years. Materials may be submitted to update and/or supplement a nomination during that same time period.

Send the following nomination materials:

  1. Completed Nomination Form (Download 2023 Marilla Ricker Award - Nomination Form.docx);
  2. Nominee’s Resume or Biography; and
  3. Award Criteria Narrative.



NHWBA, Marilla M. Ricker Achievement Award

497 Hooksett Road

Box 179

Manchester, NH 03104

Past Ricker Award Winners

Back (L to R): Marital Master Deborah Kane Rein, Jennifer Parent, Ellen Musinsky

Front (L to R): Hon. Jean K. BurlingMaureen Raiche Manning, Justice Carol Ann Conboy, Lucy C. Hodder

L to R:  Ellen Musinsky, Justice Carol Ann Conboy, Emily Rice, Deborah Rein, Connie Rakowsky, Lucy C. Hodder, Mary Susan Leahy, Jennifer Parent, Hon. Susan Carbon

Back (L to R): Carol Hess, Linda Johnson, Cathy Green, Representative Ann McLane Kuster, Deborah Rein, Connie Rakowsky, Emily Rice

Front (L to R): Ellen Musinsky, Hon. Jean K. Burling, Hon. Tina Nadeau, Justice Linda Dalianis, Justice Carol Ann Conboy, Hon. Susan Carbon, Jennifer Parent

Award Recipients

Christine M. Rockefeller
2021Robin D. Melone


Hon. Anna Barbara Hantz Marconi

2019 Maureen Raiche Manning 
2018 Catherine E. Shanelaris 


Hon. Linda Stewart Dalianis


Jennifer L. Parent


Jane E. Young


Carol L. Hess


Hon. Tina L. Nadeau


Connie Rakowsky


Lucy C. Hodder


Marital Master Deborah Kane Rein


Ellen J. Musinsky


Hon. Carol Ann Conboy


Sherilyn Burnett Young


Barbara Keshen


Mary Pilkington-Casey


Rep. Ann McLane Kuster


Hon. Jean K. Burling

Emily G. Rice


Linda S. Johnson

Deborah J. Cooper


Cathy J. Green

Mary Susan Leahy


Hon. Susan B. Carbon

Martha Van Oot

This web site is for informational purposes only. No information submitted to this site will be deemed to be, or kept, confidential. The NHWBA is a voluntary professional organization. It is not affiliated with the New Hampshire Bar Association.

Copyright 2023 NHWBA. All Rights Reserved.

New Hampshire Women's Bar Association

497 Hooksett Road

Box 179

Manchester, NH 03104