NHWBA: scholarship

Winnie McLaughlin Scholarship

The NHWBA, in partnership with University of New Hampshire School of Law, created an endowment to support an academic scholarship awarded to a second year woman law student each year. The scholarship is named after Agnes Winifred McLaughlin, the first woman admitted to practice law in New Hampshire on June 30, 1917.

The award criteria include:

  • Demonstrated academic achievement  (3.0 GPA or better)*
  • Community Service focused on advancing women in society, and
  • Demonstrated financial need

This collaboration between the NHWBA and the University of New Hampshire School of Law is intended to attract talented women law students to the New Hampshire legal community who might otherwise accept offers from schools providing better scholarship packages. 

We congratulate our current and past scholarship recipients:

 Andrea Christensen

Karinne Brobst

Emelia (Smallidge) Galdieri

Barbara Bedard

Jessica Allsop

Lindsay (Whitelaw) Nadeau

Allison Fusco

Lyndsay Robinson

Christine Hilliard

Those interested in making a charitable gift towards the scholarship fund so that we can continue to offer financial assistance to more women law students, please contact UNH School of Law.

*This requirement may be modified in the disrection of the committee.